World Series Virtual Racing
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Server Warping

3 posters

Go down

Server Warping Empty Server Warping

Post  Matt Lewis Mon Jan 09, 2012 2:06 pm

Over the last few events weve had a few issues with cars warping and momentarily dissapearing from view.

Brandon has most non-essential things turned off on the server for the racing but we still seem to have issues. I'm no expert but with the larger grid sizes feel we need to try and resolve for everyones benefit.

A bit of google research suggest that the main issue could be is our personal connection to the server which enables the server to recieve and send the packets. The moment this gets disrupted we suffer packetloss. one packet of information lost can lead to warping or other issues (cars in the tarmack for example)

But its also about the accumulative of the connections, one or two bad ones in a grid can have serious effects on 1]everyone or 2] only a few induviduals whome suffer from that bad connection vs the server vs them, and this could even be the guy with the best ping messing things up for someone suffering from warping.

If we have any server experts with opinion then please feel free to add suggestion, in the meantime would like to know who has had the warping/disapearing car issues or anyone that is running fine.

The other thing if you all wouldn't mind test is your own ping and packet loss rates via http://pingtest.net/ On the UK servers i'm getting 0% packet loss and grade A rating
Matt Lewis
Matt Lewis
Admin
Admin

Back to top Go down

Server Warping Empty Re: Server Warping

Post  Simon Ward Mon Jan 09, 2012 2:34 pm

I was going to suggest that it might be me seen as Im on of the newest, and that I only have backwards village 1.3MB internet but ive just ping tested and im at 0% loss grade A from Maidenhead so I dont know now.

Server Warping 54142574
Simon Ward
Simon Ward
Safety car driver